Please tell us how we have done

This is your opportunity to tell us and other customers about your experience with Ginger Beer Golf Travel.

Your review will automatically be checked for authenticity (ie. not written by a robot or spammer) and then published here. Please note: Your email WILL NOT be published

We look forward to your feedback.

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Average rating:  
 39 reviews
by Ken on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Ballot Buddy - Yes!

I used Ballot Buddy three times in June 2019 and hit the Old Course ballot 2 of 3 times. The process is quite simple, and Chris makes it easy to correspond with your "buddies". He keeps on top of things to make sure that all parties are in sync before ballot submission day. He pays very good attention to detail. I will use Ballot Buddy again on my next trip to St Andrews.

Thanks Ken for such a positive review of my Ballotbuddy service. I was delighted to hook you up with other guys and steer you towards your ballot application. Such are the odds of success, you would have been lucky to get just one ballot time on the Old Course, so many congratulations on hitting it two times out of three! I hope you enjoyed your experience and I look forward to helping you again in the future. Best wishes, Chris

by Mark Zarick on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Great Experience!

I used the BallotBuddy service and it made all the difference. I was able to play the Old Course and check it off my Bucket List (a month later I'm still smiling)! I paid Chris nothing, yet he was there writing all these emails to us as our foursome changed. I can only imagine what he can do for anyone who wants to hire him to set up their experience. His devotion and professionalism are second to none!

Wow Mark! So kind of you, it makes me smile too that I was able to help make it happen for you. All the best, Chris.

by Joe Housey on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
BallotBuddy

I used Chris’ BallotBuddy service and he facilitated helping me along the way tremendously. Chris’ communication via email was impressive and always responded in a timely manner. Having a system for single golfers to get onto a ballot, and being so helpful throughout the process was an outstanding service to take advantage of. Not having been familiar with the system at all at St Andrews Old Course, Chris bridged the gap and was an incredible asset. Thank you so much, Chris! Truly an unforgettable experience!

That's great to hear Joe. Thanks so much. It's so gratifying when a system works and the end result is an "unforgettable experience". I hope you'll take great memories of St Andrews and Scotland back home with you. All the best. Chris

by Dean Hicks on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Old Course

Just wanted to thank Chris for putting me in touch with fellow golfers who wanted to play the same dates. Thanks to Brett for getting us in the local ballot first try. The Old Course exceeded all expectations and was a round I will never forget. Thanks again Chris

You are very welcome Dean. I'm pleased my free BallotBuddy service helped you to find another single so that you could enter the ballot together.
The Old Course ballot is a lottery and the chances of success are not especially high during the high season. However hooking you up with another single golfer who happened to be a local certainly increased your chances of success.
So pleased you had a great round out there!
All the best. Chris

by Page Chapman on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Golf with Ginger Beer

My wife and I wanted to take our grandson somewhere to play golf as a college graduation present. When thinking about where to go, we said "Why not Scotland". We came upon Chris's name out of the blue and since our grandson is just taking up the game and we are both in our 70's/80's (age--not score), he sounded like a perfect match for us.



We did it all by phone and e mail, and although I was pretty familiar with Scottish golf, I did not know of some of the courses that a beginner and two elderly might be able to play with caddies and buggies.



In short order Chris had an itinerary together for us and off we went. His attention to detail was unquestioned and our whole trip went off without a hitch. Even the Scottish weather cooperated!!! Chris was an excellent communicator during the pre trip phase and even got in touch with us while we were there. E mails were answered promptly and I always felt I could get in touch with him at a moments notice.



In short I would highly recommend using Ginger Beer Travel for a future trip. Not everyone in this world is a single digit handicapper and it is great to play some lesser known course which, nevertheless, have all the beauty and challenges that you would expect from a Scottish golf experience.

Hi Page, Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a full and considered review. So pleased you and Barbara had the Scottish golf experience with your grandson that you were hoping for. It's great to receive your endorsement of my service. It's the same service I try to offer each and every client. Your responsiveness and attention certainly helped the planning process and made the itinerary a pleasure to arrange for you. Best Chris

by Arthur Tang on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Ballot Tips for Old Course

Chris offered me valuable tips for the insight of balloting for a tee time of playing Old Course. A knowledgeable and kind professional in travel/golfing business.

Hi Arthur, You are very welcome!
Thank you so much. Kind regards, Chris

by christophe richard on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
may 2019

Very nice week. Great house Casa Roble and golf courses with fast greens. A very good trip very well organised

Hi Christophe,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
You really played some great courses didn't you, with Valderrama your stand out round.
It was a pleasure organising the trip for you. Your responsiveness and flexibility really helped the planning. With best wishes, Chris

by Marc Youngblood on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Unhappy customer

Lodging provided was subpar...this lodging was substituted for the original hotel which we paid for. Room had inadequate ventilation, a toilet that would not work, and extremely noisy. We were not happy with substituted accommodations, and the contract called for another hotel. After hearing of the change of units, I complained but got no feedback from Gingerbeer. I had to call the other "hostel", but they did not respond or contact GingerBeer.

DO NOT USE GINGERBEER OR WILKINSON GOLF

Thank you for your review Mark. Again, I am truly sorry that your lodging did not meet your expectations. I provided you a considered, 2500 word response at the time addressing your post-stay complaint regarding the type of room you booked along with the issues you had during your stay and so I see no benefit in revisiting the matter here.
But your statement regarding the lack of feedback to the lodging complaint made pre-stay surprises me as the hotel and I both emailed a reply to you independently on the same day that you raised the matter to address and allay your concerns.
I strive to deliver exceptional customer service to all my clients, including timely and regular feedback, which I think is reflected in other reviews available here. I very much regret in this case, where there is a clear difference of opinion, if you feel I didn’t live up to those expectations. With regards, Chris

by David Mayor on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
St Andrews

Well what can I say, Chris dotted every I and crossed every t, our trip was exactly as planned by Chris with excellent info and itineraries provided. Will definitely use this company again.

Thank you David. It was a pleasure to arrange the trip for you. I'm so pleased it worked out as planned. I'll be delighted to assist you again, perhaps if you fancy a trip down to Spain to play at Valderrama? Kind regards,
Chris
TIP: If, like David, you are from the UK and are willing to take a bit of a chance with the weather, then April is a particularly good month for a long weekend in St Andrews, trying to get a time on the Old Course via the daily ballot. There is less competition compared with other months so your chance of success is greater, and green fees (in the first half of April at least) are less than in the high season.

by Michael Collins on Ginger Beer Golf Travel
BallotBuddy Match

The BallotBuddy Match which Chris, from the Ginger Beer Golf Travel, has initiated is a super service. As a single golfer visiting St Andrews from South Africa I was fully aware of how difficult it would be to play the Old Course. However Chris paired me with other single golfers and we were then able to enter the Old Course Ballot. I was successful on three occasions playing with fellow golfers from around the world. Whilst it does not guarantee that you will be successful in the ballot, it provides an opportunity to enter. It is truly a super initiative which Chris offers at no charge. Thank you Chris.

Hi Michael,
You are very welcome and thank you for your kind words. I'm really pleased that you were successful in the ballot. Three times out of three as well!
BallotBuddy is indeed a new initiative from us here at Ginger Beer Golf Travel. We've felt for some time that it would be good to help single golfers who otherwise might have to wait in line for a chance to play the Old Course.
I can't take credit for your ballot success, but it's great to think that I was able to help you get your name in the hat.
Thanks again Michael and all the best.
Chris

Page 1 of 4:
«
 
 
1
2
3
4
 
»